Transgender Day of Visibility: Businesses, Faith Leaders, Community Groups, Labor Unions, Elected Officials Support Transgender Iowans

folder_openLGBTQ, News

Today Progress Iowa issued the following statement recognizing Transgender Day of Visibility, recognized today, March 31st, joining more than one hundred and eighty community organizations, faith leaders, businesses, labor unions, and elected officials across Iowa: 

“Today we speak with one voice, to recognize transgender Iowans. We recognize their accomplishments and contributions to our state. Most importantly we recognize their humanity and how much joy they create as our friends, family members, and neighbors.  

“Transgender Day of Visibility comes at a critical moment for our state. This year transgender Iowans have faced unprecedented attacks. Discriminatory policies have been signed into law. Their freedom to get medical care has been taken away. There is an attempt to erase their very existence, by making it easier to ban books, curriculum, and other programs that mention transgender people. And every discriminatory statement and piece of legislation contributes to a culture where LGBTQ youth already have a  higher risk for depression, anxiety and thoughts of suicide.

“The transgender community is resilient. But no one should have to be resilient to preserve their basic human rights and dignity. As Iowans we speak with one voice in support of our transgender friends, neighbors, and family members. We see you, we value you, and you are a valued part of our community.”

The above statement was agreed upon by the following organizations, faith leaders, businesses, labor unions, and leaders from all across the state of Iowa:

One Iowa

Iowa Safe Schools

Interfaith Alliance of Iowa

Progress Iowa

Planned Parenthood Advocates of Iowa

Iowa State Education Association

AFSCME Council 61

Episcopal Diocese of Iowa

Bishop Betsey Monnot

Capitol Hill Lutheran Church

Rev. Katie Z. Dawson

Rev. Candice K. Brown

Rep. Jennifer Konfrst, Iowa House Democratic Leader

Sen. Zach Wahls, Iowa Senate Democratic Leader

Rev. Cn. Meg Wagner, Canon to the Ordinary, Episcopal Diocese of Iowa

Rev. Anna Blaedel

Rev. M Jade Kaiser

Waterloo Human Rights Commission

Jubilee United Methodist Church

St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, Grinnell, Iowa

The Rev. John Doherty

Wesley Center, Iowa City

Rev. Gary Sneller, retired pastor Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)

Jan Schnell

St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church 

Rev. Sophie Mathonnet-VanderWell

Rev. Robyn Bles Senior Minister of Wakonda Christian Church

New Beginnings Christian Church

Rev. Jane Stewart

Unity Church of Ames

One Human Family QCA

QC Pride Inc

Metro Community Church QC

Pastor David Borger Germann

Andrew Dunn, Iowa City Councilor

Presbyterian Church (USA)

Cedar County Democrats 

Indivisible Linn County Metro 

Michelle Bechen, LMSW

Iowa Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO

Catherine Schroeder, Episcopal Deacon, Boone

Rep. Art Staed

Crossroads United Church of Christ, Indianola

Rep. Mary Mascher (retired)

Chris Rohret

Mary Cohen, Associate Professor of Music Education 

Full Circle Catholic Community

Bonnie Murphy

Rep. Megan Srinivas, Physician

Mx. Jonny Meyer

Rep. Tracy Ehlert

Common Good Iowa

Sheri Carnahan

Tom Carnahan

Agudas Achim Congregation 

Rita Carter, United Methodist/United Women in Faith

Rev. Dr. Dorothy Whiston (retired)

Sally Pederson, former Iowa Lt. Governor

Full Circle Faith Community

Marlea O’Brien

Indivisible Iowa

Gary Zmolek, educator

Shelly Servadio Elias, Founder Climate Caucus IDP. Acting VC Veterans Caucus, Climate Caucus 

Rep. Marti Anderson (retired)

Rev. Jeanie Smith

Sen. Molly Donahue

Charlotte Fairlie

Rev. Kyle Carswell, St. Timothy’s Episcopal Church, West Des Moines

First Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), Coralville, IA

Rev. Coqui Conkey

Urbandale United Church of Christ

Sen. Janice Weiner

Heartland Presbyterian Church

Sen. Nate Boulton

Tara Shukla Jones

Iowa Citizen Action Network

Joan Steinmetz

National Association of Social Workers, Iowa Chapter

Rev. John Chaplin, Pastor in the United Church of Christ

Sen. Liz Bennett

Christ Church

Rev. Patricia Goldberg

Rep. Monica Kurth

LCS, local business

Bridget Carberry Montgomery, Urbandale City Councilmember 

Iowa Queer Student Alliance


Rev. Lee Schott, Valley United Methodist Church Equity & Justice Team, West Des Moines

Scott County Democratic Party

Rev. Lee Roorda Schott

Downtown Disciples


Sen. Pam Jochum

Rep. Lindsay James

Dubuque County Democratic Party 

Jason Menke, Urbandale School Board Member

Snyder Strategies, LLC

Fort Dodge Pride Festival 

Central Iowa Rainbow Families

Crypt with Whit 

Corridor Community Action Network

Mandi Remington

Renee Stewart 

Micah Kiel

Fayette County Iowa Democrats 

Rev. Jill Cameron Michel

Kenna Wolbers

Tracy Murphy, IDP Progressive Caucus Vice Chair, VC Madison County Democrats

Hinton Consulting

Beloved Community Initiative 

Rev. Nora Boerner

Glenn Hurst, Minden City Councilperson

Holly Herbert

Iowa Progressive Caucus

Judy Knoblock 


Trinity Las Americas UMC

IDP Stonewall Caucus

Edward Agran, Professor Emeritus 

Linn County Democrats

Family Folk Machine

Sioux County Democrats

Linn County Democrats

Ashley Anderson, Urbandale School Board Member

Jennifer Winn

Joel Sanford, LCS Payroll Accountant 

Dan Gutmann, Urbandale School Board

Rev. Deb Hill-Davis

Faith United Church of Christ – Iowa City

Rev. Ryan Downing

The Disability Caucus of the Iowa Democratic Party

Penny Vossler

Iowans for Public Education

Clock, Inc LGBT+ Community Center

Niki Conrad, County Supervisor

Iowa Faith Leadership Network

Mason City Voices for Inclusion

Mason City, IA LGBTQ+ Pride

Unitarian Universalist Society, Coralville, Iowa

Webster County Democrats

Plymouth Congregational Church 

Scott County Democrats

Iowa Democratic Party Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Chairs

Adams County Democratic Party

At-Large Fort Dodge City Council Representative

Megan Secor, City Councilperson, Fort Dodge

Indivisible Iowa

Linda Santi

Room for All 

Sandi Bass

Amy Croll, Urbandale City Councilmember

Sen. Mike Gronstal (retired)

Penny Rosfjord, IDP District Chair

PFLAG Cedar Rapids

Nikki Arthur, LMFT, PC

APEP – Ankeny Parents and Educators for Progress

Ann Brown Legal, PC

Curtis Boyer

J. Kirby

Slick Designs

Jubilee United Methodist Church

Advocates for Social Justice 

Veterans National Recovery Center

Dungeon’s Gate

Iowa Coalition Against Sexual Assault

Sparkling Home Services 

Teresa Dehming, Decorah

Gary Collins, CEO, Crescent Community Health Center

Ruth Henderson

Higher Education Licensure Pros LLC

Denise O’Brien, Vice chair IDP Rural Caucus 

Des Moines Strong 

Casey Kelley

Johnson County Democrats

Ed Cranston

Rev. Judith Youngman

Johnna Joy Designs

Cass-Atlantic Pride

Siouxland Pride Alliance 

Central Iowa Music Therapy, LLC

Pottawattamie County Democratic Party

Marion Alliance for Racial Equity (MARE)

Sue Deibner, Spanish teacher

Doug Hanson Pottery